List of World Heritage Sites in India

There are 32 World Heritage Sites in India that are recognized by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as of 2014. These are places of importance of cultural or natural heritage as described in the UNESCO World Heritage Convention, established in 1972. The Convention concerning the protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage was adopted on 17 November 1997 following the General Conference of the UNESCO held from 17 October 1972 to 21 November 1972. India’s first two sites inscribed on the list at the Seventh Session of the World Heritage held in 1983 were the Agra Fort and the Ajanta Caves. Over the years, 30 more sites have been inscribed, the latest site inscribed in 2014 Great Himalayan National Park. Of these 32 sites, 25 are cultural sites and the other seven are natural sites. A tentative list of further sites/properties submitted by India for recognition includes 31 sites.

S.No Name of the Site Year of Inscription
1. Ajanta Caves 1983
2. Ellora Caves 1983
3. Agra Fort 1983
4. Taj Mahal 1983
5. Sun Temple, Konark 1984
6. Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram 1984
7. Kaziranga National Park 1985
8. Manas Wildlife Sanctuary 1985
9. Keoladeo National Park 1985
10. Churches and Convents of Goa 1986
11. Khajuraho Group of Monuments 1986
12. Group of Monuments at Hampi 1986
13. Fatehpur Sikri 1986
14. Group of Monuments at Pattadakal 1987
15. Elephanta Caves 1987
16. Brihadisvara Temple, Thanjavur 1987
17. Sundarbans National park 1987
18. Nanda Devi National Park 1988
19. Buddhist Monuments at Sanchi 1989
20. Humayun’s Tomb, Delhi 1993
21. Qutab Minar and its Monuments, Delhi 1993
22. Darjeeling Himalayan Railway 1999
23. Mahabodhi Temple Complex at Bodh Gaya 2002
24. Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka 2003
25. Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (formerly Victoria Terminus) 2004
26. Champaner-Pavagadh Archaeological Park 2004
27. Chola Temples (as an extension of Brihadisvara Temple, Thanjavur inscribed in 1987) 2004
28. Valley of Flowers National Park (as an extension to Nanda DeviNational Park inscribed in 1988 2005
29. Nilgiri Mountain Railway 2005
30. Red Fort Complex 2007
31. Extension of the Mountain Railways of India : Kalka Shimla Railway 2008

32. The latest site inscribed in 2014 Great Himalayan National Park.


2 thoughts on “List of World Heritage Sites in India

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s